Book Reviews

Cinder | Book Review

Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles, #1)Cinder by Marissa Meyer
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Introducing Cinder - Cinder the Lunar Chronicles
[Credit: Unknown artist]

“She was a cyborg, and she would never go to a ball.”



I loved this book even more the second time around. It’s quick-paced, well-written and an overall fun read.


So, what’s this book about?

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless Lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl. . . . Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg.

She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future

Letumosis, one of this book’s main themes, hit hard, especially now. When I read this book back in 2016, the fictional disease was very scary to twelve year old me. Now, it hits in a different way. The fact that a pandemic is a real thing that exists is still crazy to think about.

Anywho, I also loved the fairytale themes. Overall, the story only sort of resembles its fairy tale counterpart, Cinderella, I loved the small little beats that hinted to the fairy tale.

Overall, I loved this first book of the Lunar Chronicles and I can’t wait to read the next ones.

– – – – – –

LET THE ReREAD BEGINNNNNNN

| Goodreads | Blog | Pinterest | LinkedIn | YouTube | Instagram

View all my reviews